British Ferret Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Jill in season

4 posters

Go down

Jill in season Empty Jill in season

Post  Benjamin Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:04 am

Right... i have a bit of a dilemma,i'm a totall ferret virgin,only had my two for a few months,and one of my Jills have come into season,i had planned on getting them spayed this coming payday (May 4th) but didn't anticipate that she'd beat me to it. i'm fairly new to edinburgh and my local vet (portabello) doesn't seem that interested in spaying my two girls,so i guess i'm asking for a little advice...

#1 Will she (Shush) be okay untill may 4th? i've read that they can develope a few life threatening problems if not mated or spayed.
I quite literally haven't got a penny untill payday. And i noticed she was slightly swolen 'down there' about a week ago.

#2 Does anyone know of and have any experience with any ferret friendly vets in Edinburgh (or Glasgow,it's only a train journey)

Your assistance will be much appreciated.
Benjamin
Benjamin

Number of posts : 73
Registration date : 2009-03-27

Back to top Go down

Jill in season Empty Jill

Post  PAM B. Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:18 am

Hi Benjamin. My vet wont spay a jill in season. So she needs to be brought out by a jill jab or a vasectomised. Hob. Pam
PAM B.
PAM B.

Number of posts : 99
Registration date : 2007-12-17

Back to top Go down

Jill in season Empty Re: Jill in season

Post  Benjamin Sun Apr 19, 2009 2:26 am

Ahh... right... well, a hob is out of the question,i still don't really know anyone in the city, especially other ferret keepers,and my two were rescued,
How long does the jab take to bring her out? i imagine it's fairly rapid?!
And being in season for a few weeks isn't going to cause her any iriversable harm is it?...
Benjamin
Benjamin

Back to top Go down

Jill in season Empty jills

Post  PAM B. Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:42 am